At Taliaferro, Carran & Hampton PLLC, our DUI criminal defense attorneys in Covington know there were just over 14,800 DUI arrests in Kentucky last year, and that even first-time convictions for driving under the influence can change our residents’ lives going forward.
With over 75 years of combined experience successfully representing our fellow Kentuckians after a DUI arrest whether it is their first arrest or a multiple DUI charge we also understand the penalties, our clients face for these serious charges.
If you have been arrested for a first-time DUI offense, it is important to consult an experienced criminal defense attorney about your charges even if the arrest was straightforward and did not involve damage to public property, injuries, or death so you can pursue the best outcome available for your unique charges.
Here is what our residents need to know about a first-time DUI conviction in Kentucky.
A First-Time DUI Conviction Has Serious Consequences in Kentucky
Our Kentucky DUI law states that it is against the law for any person to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or greater.
For drivers under the age of 21, it is against the law to operate a vehicle while their ability to do so is impaired due to the consumption of alcohol or drugs, even with a blood alcohol concentration of less than .08%
A first offense DUI conviction in Kentucky is a Class B misdemeanor, which can be penalized by:
- Fines between $200 and $500, and all related court costs
- Community service between 48 hours to 30 days
- 90-day substance abuse program
- An ignition interlock device may be required for up to six months
- Jail time: From 48 hours to 2 to 30 days, which will be sentenced based on any applicable aggravated offenses listed below
Drivers will face a minimum of four days in jail if arrested while:
- Refusing to submit to the official chemical test
- BAC level was .18% or greater
- Driving at least 30 mph over the posted speed limit
- Driving the wrong way on a limited-access highway
- Traveling with a passenger under the age of 12
- Causing an accident that resulted in death or serious injury to another person
If you were previously convicted of a DUI in Kentucky over the past decade, the penalties for each additional conviction will substantially increase and require a skilled criminal defense attorney to pursue the best outcome for your unique charges and criminal history.
Will I Lose My License After a DUI Arrest in Kentucky?
In addition to the previously listed penalties for a DUI conviction in Kentucky, those arrested could face a license suspension between 30 to 120 days.
However, some drivers may be eligible for a hardship license if they meet the court’s requirements.
If you have been charged with DUI in Kentucky, the law allows only ten days for a Kentucky DUI lawyer to make a request with the Kentucky Division of Motor Vehicles for a hearing to help save your driver’s license.
Contact Our DUI Lawyers in Northern Kentucky at Taliaferro, Carran & Hampton PLLC
If you have been arrested for a DUI anywhere in Kentucky, contact our experienced Covington criminal defense attorneys at Taliaferro, Carran & Hampton PLLC today by phone at 859-291-9900 or online to schedule a free consultation to learn how we can pursue the best results for your unique charges.